4/7/16

Hello everyone again! Time is actually really flying while I am here, it has already been 3 weeks but it feels like only a week has passed since I entered the mtc. But it was really fun being here for general conference (partially because it means we don’t have classes). But my ability in the language is starting to pick up, it has reached a point where I can give a lesson in Finnish without notes and have a conversation with the investigator but just like everyone else there is one part of the language that I struggle with, for me it is comprehending what they are saying half of the time and also grammar. In finnish, there is this thing called hardening or softening, based on how a word ends you change certain letters in a word to help it flow better. I am certain that whoever came up with it knew what they were doing but I don’t think it was really designed for missionaries who are entering the field in 6 weeks. But there were also a lot of tears this week, the old Danes who were some of our first friends in the MTC left Monday. It was really heartbreaking because one of them felt so unready that his anxiety was palpable. But the exodus has just begun, the other two groups in our zone: the nords and swedes, are leaving in the next two weeks. One of the nords is a solo missionary and because he needs to always be with someone, he has been temporarily assigned to me and Jacaard as a temporary companionship, his name is Eldste Nelson. But yesterday we got new Danes! As the weather starts to pick up so does the missionary population. We originally had 3 danes and now that number has bumped up to 7. i haven’t really gotten to know them very well yet just because their first few days are really busy but I will have their names down.
Other interesting things that happened this week.
-We inherited all of the old Danes food. One part of MTC culture is that your food supply builds up fast, people will get food from their families and because they leave before they go through everything they give it away.
-I got a missionary library for free! One thing that I was meaning to get but haven’t yet is a missionary library, it includes 4 books written by leaders of the church. While I was cleaning I noticed that they had a free stuff pile and there was a missionary library sitting on top of it, brand new.
-I’m growing to like Vegemite (surprisingly). Some of our closest friends, the Thais, have an australian who has a supply of vegemite. Remembering how awful my first time with it I had to try it again. It was surprisingly not that bad, so I am probably the first non-australian who would willingly eat it again.

Also I would really appreciate it if you keep me in your prayers that I can learn the language, I need all the help I can get.

Author: Elder Warner

I was born and raised in Roscoe, Illinois and I am probably one of the few members of the church who get to say that they go to church in another state (we go to the Beloit, Wisconsin ward). I am a freshman at BYU-Idaho and currently working on my associates degree of science. My hobbies include music, bike-riding, reading, and hiking. mission email: rwarner@myldsmail.net

Leave a Reply

