5/5/16

Well, it is officially getting close to the end of my time in the MTC! This has been extremely fast for me. I feel this is even faster than most missionaries experiences in the MTC. But per usual, lots of fun times and sad times. My branch president described the MTC as the Church’s official roller coaster and it is strangely fitting. Am I going to tell you about the bad times? Nope, you want bad news turn on your tv. But me and Vanhin Farkas finally told the new russians that he could speak perfect english. I was expecting some serious rage from them but they actually started to die laughing. Not too bad, it’s been a week since it happened and I am still not dead so I am assuming that they actually got a kick out of it. Also I am certain I met someone who set the record for serving a mission. For those of you who aren’t mormon, most girls leave when they are 19. This girl is 30! and she is serving a mission. I have mad props for her. Anyone who feels that that is the right time and goes takes a lot of courage just because it isn’t normal. I know the Lord is going to bless her in so many ways it isn’t going to be funny. Also during this week, one of the people I have become very good friends with is Eldste Erickson, he is from North Ogden and he is going to Denmark. He we talked about our life plans for after the mission. He is planning to own a ranch give his kids the life he always wanted. It was a nice heart to heart we had and I know he is going to do well. The Danes are leaving the same time that we are on literally the same day. It is really weird because they get to leave at the same time as us. But also we had to do a computer project on family history where we had to go onto familysearch and do a tutorial. I thought that it wasn’t for me but holy cow it is actually quite fun! My companion has some interesting people he is directly descended from. Namely, Charlagemane (I am sorry for those french speakers or history buffs, I cannot ever get names right) and Emperor Constantine. It has actually become pretty fun to use family search and see how far back our lines go. I don’t know who has been working so hard on our family tree but whoever it is you are my hero. But it is also weird because you still have a big impact even if you aren’t out on the mission field yet. We had a knock on our building door and it was some elders who told us that one of our sisters was incredibly incredibly ill. We rushed over as fast as we could and the sister you could tell was miserable. She has missed a few days of class and threw up 20 times that day alone. She was experiencing malnutrition and needed a blessing stat. We met her outside of her apartment and gave her a blessing. It was probably one of the most spiritual experiences of my life. I could feel that when me and my companion were giving her the annoiting and the blessing that our words were truly guided and we felt the prompting of the spirit that she was going to be ok. Fast forward a few days she is healthy again and is able to eat food again and is able to hold down food. The priesthood is truly, TRULY amazing. Also another miracle that happened this week is Vanhin Farkas is hungarian and while he could speak English he was still having a hard time with the big words. He has been desperately needing a hungarian to english dictionary and we were bored and there wasn’t a classroom being used and we opened it and sitting right no a desk in the room was a hungarian to english dictionary. We left it for a few days and no one came back to claim it so he is planning to use it during his time in the MTC and is going to leave it back but it has still been a blessing. Also yesterday we got to experience talking to someone from Finland on Skype. We taught him a lesson on miracles and talked about my companions arm and how it somehow didn’t break as badly as everyone expected ti to be because of the fall. We could understand him for the most part until he talked about a story of his own and then no one could understand him because he was using words that no one was familiar with. It’s also weird because I came here when it was snowing and now it is warm outside and green. It hasn’t been too long in my mind but it has been a really long time. When people tell me that I have been here for 50 days I am a little skeptical and then I realize that they are actually really right and I have a little heart attack. But I love and miss all of you and that includes those of you who I have no idea who you are. Also people of Finland, I’ll see you soon!
-Vanhin Warner

Author: Elder Warner

I was born and raised in Roscoe, Illinois and I am probably one of the few members of the church who get to say that they go to church in another state (we go to the Beloit, Wisconsin ward). I am a freshman at BYU-Idaho and currently working on my associates degree of science. My hobbies include music, bike-riding, reading, and hiking. mission email: rwarner@myldsmail.net

Leave a Reply

